Join #Expochat On Wednesdays at 1pm ET!

TSNN is a proud sponsor of #Expochat

#Expochat – Digital Transformation in the Global Exhibition Industry

In July, UFI, the global association of the exhibition industry, released an index (The UFI DIX) “aggregating the status of all digitization activities” across different exhibition industry markets around the world. The group measured digitization in the following ways:

  • Added digital services/products around existing exhibitions (like apps, digital advertising, digital signage)
  • Changed internal processes and workflows in the company into digital processes
  • Developed a digital transformation strategy for the whole company
  • Created a designated function in the upper/top management (like a CDO, Head of Digital, etc.)
  • Launched digital products not directly related to existing exhibitions

In this week’s #Expochat, Michelle Bruno will chat with Kai Hattendorf, managing director, CEO of UFI about how and why these metrics were developed and what UFI has discovered about digitization around the world. She will invite chat participants to weigh in about their own organizations’ digitization efforts.

Questions:

Kai: Can you explain what the UFI DIX is?

Kai: Why did UFI develop the UFI DIX?

Kai: What led UFI to use the metrics it selected as the foundation for the index?

Kai: Why is this research meaningful to the global exhibition industry?

Kai: Using what you have learned from the UFI DIX, what advice can you share?

All: What digital services/products have you added around existing exhibitions?

All: What internal processes have you digitized?

All: Describe your efforts to implement a company-wide digital transformation.

All: Describe your efforts to designate a C-level function to oversee digital.

All: What digital products have you launched not directly related to existing exhibitions?


When: Oct. 4, 1-2 p.m. ET

Where: Use hashtag #Expochat and any Twitter chat tool! (Tweetchat, for example)

NEW: Come to the chat with questions about anything trade show-related. We will use our community to address your issues or maybe even hook you up with some help.

What is #EXPOCHAT?

Expochat is a Twitter-based conversation on topics related to the trade show industry. It takes place most Wednesdays at 1:00 p.m. Eastern Time (new time slot) and tackles a single topic each week - a recurring pain point, innovative ideas, evolution of the industry, best practices, and what works. Expochat is alternately moderated by four industry thought leaders: Stephanie Selesnick (International Trade Information, Inc.), Terence Donnelly (Experient), Michelle Bruno (Bruno Group Signature Services) and Michael Doane (CadmiumCD).

Expochat has been reformatted from previous years. The discussion (new format) will last a very fast-paced 30 minutes, followed by 15 minutes during which participants may ask questions of the group on any topic. To participate, sign up on Twitter.com and follow the #Expochat hashtag at the appointed time. Questions will be identified as Q1, Q2, etc. Responses from participants should be written as A1, A2, etc. Tools like Tweetchat.io and others can make it easier to participate. Ideas are welcome on Expochat but commercialism is not.

Trade Show News Network, the leading online exhibition industry news resource, sponsors the chat, and topics are listed in advance on TSNN.com. Reminders will be tweeted out prior to each week's discussion, but if you miss a chat, Storify transcripts will be available on TSNN after each chat. We gladly accept requests for topics at expochat@tsnn.com. Guest moderators are also welcome. #Expochat, now in its fourth year, works because the community supports it. Join us for the best live conversations about the industry that signs your paycheck. Rants welcome!

Missed #Expochat? No Problem!

Check out our past chats:

Sept. 27 – Disruption in the Event Industry – https://storify.com/michellebruno/disruption-in-the-event-industry

Sept. 20 – What’s on Tap for IAEE’s Expo! Expo! in San Antonio? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/what-s-on-tap-for-iaee-s-expo-expo-in-san-antonio

Sept. 13 – Hosted Buyer Events – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-hosted-buyer-events-with-very-special-gue

​​​Sept. 6 – Disaster Preparedness and Recovery – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/disaster-preparedness-and-recovery

April 26 – Tricks of Attendee Acquisition for Events – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/the-tricks-of-attendee-acquisition-for-events

April 19 – Creating Education that Excites – https://storify.com/cadmiumcd/creating-education-that-excites

April 12 – Is Your Event Technology Secure? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/is-your-event-technology-secure

April 5 – Is the Old Conference/Educational Session Model Dead? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/is-the-old-conference-educational-session-model-de

March 29 – How Attendee “Personas” Impact Trade Shows & Events – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-attendee-personas-impact-trade-shows-events

March 22 - Trends In Exhibition Sponsorships – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/trends-in-exhibition-sponsorships

March 8 - Taking Your Brand Overseas – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-extending-your-expo-brand-by-going-intl

March 1 - Trade Shows and the Gig Economy – https://storify.com/michellebruno/trade-shows-and-the-gig-economy

Feb. 22 - Bringing Up Baby: How to Prepare the Next Trade Show Industry Workforce – https://storify.com/michellebruno/bringing-up-baby

Feb. 15 - How "Green" is the Trade Show Industry, Really? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-green-is-the-trade-show-industry-really

Feb. 8 – Are You Leaning In? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/are-women-in-tradeshows-leaning-in

Jan. 31 – How Might Travel Ban, Changing Trade Pacts Impact Trade Shows? - https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-feb-1-2017

Jan. 24 – How Are Shows ‘Giving Back?’ – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/how-are-shows-giving-back

Jan. 18 – Using Hackathons to Re-Invent & Grow Your Trade Show – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/using-hackathons-to-re-invent-grow-your-trade-show

Jan. 11 – CES Review - What can we learn from our shows? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-jan-11-review-of-ces2017-what-expos-can-l

Jan. 4 – New Year’s (Event Technology) Resolutions – https://storify.com/michellebruno/new-year-s-event-technology-resolutions

Nov. 30, 2016 – Is The Trade Show Industry Ready for Artificial Intelligence? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/s-the-trade-show-industry-ready-for-artificial-int

Nov. 9, 2016 – What Makes a Good Leader in Today’s Environment? – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/what-makes-a-good-leader-in-today-s-environment-58238130caffda621fab15e7

Nov. 2, 2016 – TSNN Awards: Education, Inspiration, Celebration – https://storify.com/theexpogroup/expochat-from-nov-2-2016

Oct. 26, 2016 – “Matchmaking: Can Technology Bring Exhibitors More/Better Matches and Leads?” - https://storify.com/michellebruno/matchmaking-can-technology-bring-exhibitors-more-b

Oct. 12, 2016 – All There Is to Know About IAEE's Expo! Expo! – https://storify.com/TRDonnelly/we-re-talking-iaee-hq-expo-expo-dec-6-8-in-anaheim#publicize

Oct. 5, 2016 – How Can You Build Community on the Showfloor? – https://storify.com/theexpogroup/community-spaces

Sept. 28, 2016 – How Can We Increase International Attendance at Our Shows? – https://storify.com/stephselesnick/expochat-international-attendee-acquisition#publicize

Sept. 21, 2016 – Does Gamification Work for B2B Trade Shows? – https://storify.com/michellebruno/does-gamification-work-for-b2b-trade-shows

 

Partner Voices

Vivamus suscipit tortor eget felis porttitor volutpat. Quisque velit nisi, pretium ut lacinia in, elementum id enim. Vestibulum ante ipsum primis in faucibus orci luctus et ultrices posuere cubilia Curae; Donec velit neque, auctor sit amet aliquam vel, ullamcorper sit amet ligula. Mauris blandit aliquet elit, eget tincidunt nibh pulvinar a. Donec rutrum congue leo eget malesuada. Vivamus suscipit tortor eget felis porttitor volutpat. Vivamus suscipit tortor eget felis porttitor volutpat. Vestibulum ac diam sit amet quam vehicula elementum sed sit amet dui.